Joel Rogers Photography, Photo Shelter, Salmon, sustainable fishing, sustainable seafood, marine migrationsWe have become aware of the many changes that are occurring in our oceans because of rising temperatures; coral bleaching, increased acidification affecting shellfish, and lethal toxins that can be found in shellfish in warmer waters. However what fishermen have been noticing is that their catch is changing. Thirty years ago squid was rarely found in Scottish waters. Normally associated with warmer Mediterranean waters, squid along with red mullet, sea bass and sardines are now appearing  more frequently in Scottish nets. For marine biologists these marine migrations all points to more evidence of climate change. (photo – Joel Rogers, Photo Shelter) Read our new post Ocean Warming Faster: New Research Shows.

 

Fish Populations on the Move Worldwide

Burt JOnes Maureen Shimlock, secret Seas Vision, marine conservation, marine protected areas, marine migrationsWith fish moving hundreds of miles from old grounds, marine migrations have become a serious problem around the world. Fishermen that have caught certain fish for millennium now find their nets empty. And fish may migrate from marine protected areas established to allow fish stocks to recover. If this trend in rising ocean temperatures continues the disruption of fish populations will surely continue, affecting livelihoods, and depriving traditional communities of their main food source. (photo – Burt Jones & Maureen Shimlock, Secret sea Visions)

Blueocean.net suggests that you follow the entire article in the Guardian How Warming Seas are forcing fish to seek new waters.

 

 

Marine Migrations could affect 2.5 Billion People

For over 2.5 billion people seafood is their main source of protein. Rising ocean temperatures, along with illegal fishing, over-fishing and ocean pollution are all issues that sustainable fishing needs to contend with.

The issue of marine migrations was highlighted in a recent New York Times article that reported on the black sea bass population that is now fished off the New Jersey coast whereas only twenty years ago it was found hundreds of miles further south off the North Carolina coast. In addition to all of the other aspects of this issue marine migrations brings into question the fishing quotas in international agreements.

 

How To Get More Ocean-Hearted Intel Delivered To Your Inbox!

We believe ocean lovers can change the world. If you care about the health of the ocean and want to do something about it, then connect with the Blue Ocean tribe: Our growing community of ocean change-makers is turning ocean lovers into ocean leaders. It starts with you. Join us!

 

 

Go deeper: And check out all of our related articles:

Sustainable Seafood; Everything You Need to Know: https://blueocean.net/sustainable-seafood-everything-need/

Big Ocean Stories of 2016: https://blueocean.net/big-ocean-stories-2016/

Marine Protected Areas: Giant Leap for Fish Kind: https://blueocean.net/marine-protected-areas/

Illegal Fishing On the Hook in 2016: https://blueocean.net/illegal-fishing-hook-2016/

Sustainable Fishing: Decline in fish stocks propel new models for ocean management:  https://blueocean.net/sustainable-fishing-decline/

Our Plastic Ocean: https://blueocean.net/plastic-pollution-ocean/

2016 the Hottest Year in Recorded History: https://blueocean.net/2016-hottest-year-recorded-history/

Why It’s Important to Save Our Seas’ Last Pristine Places: https://blueocean.net/important-save-seas-last-pristine-places/